My Current Struggle (a reflection of my own book)

With my newest book “Self-Ownership Theory” having recently come out, I find I am as much a recipient in need of its information as any reader. That being said, I am inclined to question whether I am really following it’s advice.

I understand fully that there are 2 “persons” in all of us battling for control, and that these 2 people must learn to work together for the betterment of the over all integrated person. I understand that this relationship which one has with oneself is built on trust. The Immediate-Self, needs to trust the wiser decisions made from the Place of Strength within the Ultimate-Self. The Ultimate-Self in turn must accept and forgive the more childish decisions made by the Immediate-Self. It is always the Immediate-Self where the problems, the addictions, the emotional lows, and the impulsive decisions occur.

Of course, I have a full understanding of this, as I am the one who wrote the concept. But you may be surprised to learn that I do not always follow it. My own Immediate-Self has been struggling with one pervasive concept; that is the need for support from others.

I have 2 major places in my life which I feel I have a right to expect some support from. One is my church and the other is my new place of work, which is actually an internship. In both instances, I am challenging myself to stay the course for my own ultimate betterment. But my Immediate-Self is deprived in various capacities.
My new church is strong. I do feel led to be there. They are King James Only, they believe in tithing, and they sing all the beautiful hymns I grew up with and now sing with my band, and in the Ocean Grove Choir. But I have no friendships there. True to form for me, I did approach the pastor about this, in part because I wanted him to know if I left why it was I did so. The pastor knows my name and says he prays for me. I have learned the names of a few people who sit near me. But I need numbers, a home group, a lady’s fellowship. These things I have had at previous churches and they helped me to not feel alone. In this church I feel desolate. It is as a great college class, and little more. I can however stay here and learn and grow as God no doubt has planned for me, if I can find a way to get my needs met in other ways during the week. I am struggling to do this.

For my internship, I am finding I have to be proactive to get what I need. I hear of the needs in this place, and know that I am more than capable of helping. But they are so busy covering for staff who suddenly disappeared for various reasons, they seem unaware that I have rushed there from my busy schedule to do nothing but strive to find things to do. As a consequence I’ve resorted to things like writing notes for my other job (if I remembered to bring my computer), or writing in my journal. I literally have gone to several different counselors and asked them to teach me. All this aside, they are a great group, and I believe there is promise here. There is one very impressive gentleman who has allowed me to lead his group with him and seems to know where I’m coming from. And I have spoken to the director, so things are going in a good direction, but it is a fight.

When I seek God for these things, I feel He is telling me to not give in and not stop fighting. Rather than quit church, and/or seek a different intern position, I am working to be patient and keep hope alive. What I need is a vision. I do see myself one day being hired as a counselor in this program as I know I have the talents to do this job well, but I must have faith that something better is on the way solely by virtue of my relationship with God, who always has a plan.

I have to start developing friendships in other places. I have to push myself to go out. I have decided to start going to AA groups, which is a requirement for my internship as well. I am convinced this is where I will find the connections I need. My current church and my internship are likely not the best places to be honest about who I am and what I struggle with anyway.

Rather than quit on these people it is likely I am deliberately meant by God to support and learn to grow with, I struggle to get the support I need in alternate ways, striving daily to remain committed to the current difficult road He has me on, and to become successful in my servitude to Him while on it.

Leave a Reply

